FIFA Women’s World Cup 2023: Everything you need to know ahead of tournament

The FIFA Women’s World Cup trophy. — AFP/File

The ninth edition of FIFA Women’s World Cup is just around the corner, with Australia and New Zealand gearing up to kick off the mega event on July 20.

This year’s tournament will include 64 matches, with the first fixture and the opening ceremony set to take place at New Zealand’s Eden Park in Auckland on July 20.

This will be the first time two nations will host the tournament.


Thirty-two teams have been divided into eight four groups for the mega event.

Group A: New Zealand (hosts), Norway, Philippines, Switzerland

Group B: Australia (hosts), Canada, Nigeria, Ireland

Group C: Costa Rica, Japan, Spain, Zambia

Group D: China, Denmark, England, Haiti

Group E: Netherlands, Portugal, United States, Vietnam

Group F: Brazil, France, Jamaica, Panama

Group G: Argentina, Italy, South Africa, Sweden

Group H: Colombia, Germany, South Korea, Morocco


Matches will be held at 10 stadiums — Lang Park, Hindmarsh Stadium, Melbourne Rectangular Stadium, Perth Oval, Stadium Australia, Sydney Football Stadium, Dunedin Stadium, Eden Park, Waikato Stadium and Wellington Regional Stadium.


There will be a round-robin format in the group stage, in which each team will play three matches. 

The top two in each group will progress to the round of 16. The knockout rounds begin on August 5, and the final will be held on Sunday, August 20 in Stadium Australia in Sydney.

Thursday, July 20

Group A: New Zealand vs. Norway

Group B: Australia vs. Ireland

Group B: Nigeria vs. Canada

Friday, July 21

Group A: Philippines vs. Switzerland

Group C: Spain vs. Costa Rica

Group E: United States vs. Vietnam

Saturday, July 22

Group C: Zambia vs. Japan

Group D: England vs. Haiti

Group D: Denmark vs. China

Sunday, July 23

Group G: Sweden vs. South Africa

Group E: Netherlands vs. Portugal

Group F: France vs. Jamaica

Monday, July 24

Group G: Italy vs Argentina

Group H: Germany vs. Morocco

Group F: Brazil vs. Panama

Group H: Colombia vs. South Korea

Tuesday, July 25

Group A: New Zealand vs. Philippines

Group A: Switzerland vs. Norway

Wednesday, July 26

Group C: Japan vs. Costa Rica

Group C: Spain vs. Zambia

Group B: Canada vs. Ireland

Group E: United States vs. Netherlands

Thursday, July 27

Group E: Portugal vs. Vietnam

Group B: Australia vs. Nigeria

Group G: Argentina vs. South Africa

Friday, July 28

Group D: England vs. Denmark

Group D: China vs. Haiti

Saturday, July 29

Group G: Sweden vs. Italy

Group F: France vs. Brazil

Group F: Panama vs. Jamaica

Sunday, July 30

Group H: South Korea vs. Morocco

Group A: Switzerland vs. New Zealand

Group A: Norway vs. Philippines

Group H: Germany vs. Colombia

Monday, July 31

Group C: Japan vs. Spain

Group C: Costa Rica vs. Zambia

Group B: Canada vs. Australia

Group B: Ireland vs. Nigeria

Tuesday, August 1

Group E: Portugal vs. United States

Group E: Vietnam vs. Netherlands

Group D: China vs. England

Group D: Haiti vs. Denmark

Wednesday, August 2

Group G: Argentina vs. Sweden

Group G: South Africa vs. Italy

Group F: Panama vs. France

Group F: Jamaica vs. Brazil

Thursday, August 3

Group H: South Korea vs. Germany

Group H: Morocco vs. Colombia

Source link

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Stay Connected

- Advertisement -spot_img

Latest Articles